Enslavement of the Nafs


بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Allah has prescribed that through Islam, we should discipline our nafs, purify it, and instruct it to act according to the obedience of Allah. To Allah belongs all of creation and all commandments.

Our Nafs has the capacity to encourage good and evil. It is the inner self which Allah describes has three stages. They can be better understood with Freud’s psychoanalytical theory of personality in which he makes reference to symbolic concepts of the three qualities of consciousness.

The three stages of the Nafs include:

  1. Nafs al-‘Ammara Bis-soo’ (The soul that urges evil)
  2. Nafs al-Lawwaama (The self- reproaching soul)
  3. Nafs al-Mutma’inna (The tranquil soul)

The three qualities of consciousness are as follows:

  1. The id
  2. The ego
  3. The Superego

The id is the section of our personality that is the source of our bodily needs, wants, impulses and desires. It is the human’s instinctual drive. Similarly…

View original post 2,461 more words


What did you think of the article?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s